www.audiophile-magazine.com

Source: www.audiophile-magazine.com

Coincident Speaker Technology

Statement Cables

Read original French version Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Coincident Speaker Technology is well known for its rather unusual price-quality ratio. Certainly, direct internet sales probably explain some of the competitiveness of Mr. Israel Blume's production, but the Coincident Speaker Technology (CST) products are far from being manufactured on the cheap or the economy, and are designed using quality components, with the primary goal of offering the highest transparency and naturalness. That is undoubtedly a very good start when you're targeting to high-end performance...

The Canadian company can also be awarded for its wide line-up of products, from loudspeakers to valve amplifiers and preamps. Israel Blume enlarge its offer progressively releasing durable and reliable products.

This is the case of my personal preamplifier (Coincident Statement Line Stage), which has been a core component in my system for many years, without being really challenged by most of the good preamps I could have hosted, and despite its very modest sticker.

Israel Blume is a very versatile manufacturer, in the way of Touraj Moghaddam (CEO of Vertere and former boss of Roksan). I was missing an experience of its cables line-up, and to avoid speculating on the presumed potential of its production, I directly focused on its new ultimate reference: the Statement cable series!

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com Israel Blume

I obtained as review samples a pair of bi-wired speaker cables of 3 meters length and a pair of balanced interconnects of 1.5 meters length. Israel Blume also proposes power cords within its Statement series, but I have always been reluctant to review power cords as results can vary a lot according the electronics used during the test.

So I decided to focus on the basics, interconnects and speaker cables, within a price range quite elevated for a manufacturer who has usually been very attentive to the value for money. That's for the genesis of this review...

Before getting into the substance of this review, let's have a quick look at the whole cable line-up, and at the achievements made by Israel Blume during the past years.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

These were partly devoted to developing new ranges of cables. And it worked so well that Israel Blume today declares to achieve as much turnover on its complete range of cables as on the sale of loudspeakers despite their large recognition.

Coincident Speaker Technology's approach to cables' design was quite simple: Israel Blume collected a large sample of the best cables available to the market (mostly speaker and interconnects) in order to establish a reference panel, and then worked until being able to offer cables with almost the same performance for a fraction of the price charged by the competitors.

In other words, this approach increases our sympathy whilst prices don't stop increasing for many cable manufacturers. We must however keep in mind that direct sales distort the comparison with dealers' network distribution. But this strategy of keeping affordable prices seems to be part of Coincident Speaker Technology's DNA.

The first series of CST (Coincident Speaker Technology) cables was launched in early 2000 and, with increasing success, a complete range of cables was developed up to the recent release of the Statement cables line.

Israel Blume's offer includes today three different ranges: the entry level "CST.5", the "Extreme" line, and the "Statement" series.

The Statement line is fairly complete and includes unbalanced (ST-1) and balanced (ST-2) interconnects, speaker cables (ST-5), available also in bi-wired configuration, jumpers (ST-5/JS), digital cables (ST-4, AES-EBU, SPDIF BNC or RCA), power cords (ST-10) and phono cable (ST-PH-1).

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

The speaker cables are, in the same way of interconnects, made from specially treated ultra-pure PC-OCC copper conductors (Pure Copper by Ohno Continuous Casting, ie a wire of pure monocrystal copper) 0.57 mm in diameter.

The specific process of extrusion at high temperature allows a quality of copper which practically puts no transverse barrier to the crystals of copper that could inhibit the signal path. The level of purity is definitely too high to be measured accurately by American laboratories, dixit Mr Blume himself.

Multiple small-diameter conductors (23 AWG) are individually insulated with thin films of a special PTFE-variant fluoropolymer material (about 0.076 mm or less) and arrayed according to the Coincident's proprietary geometry called "WaveLink", based on a Litz assembly, over air-bearing composite and concentric PTFE-variant core structures to make the cable's four individual conductor legs.  Each of these four legs is then wrapped and extruded with a twin-element PTFE-variant fluoropolymer jacket and the four legs are cabled,  either around an air-bearing central core member or a special into a minimum-inductance "quad", and finally given a braided protective mesh outer jacket.

The speaker cables come with an eight conductors of 16 gauge (AWG) assembly in their normal shotgun configuration (2 legs per conductor) or with four conductors of 12 AWG when terminated in the optional bi-wire mode used for this review.

Connections are available as standard in billet-machined cryogenically-treated 24K direct gold-plated copper spade lug (of either 6.0 or 8.5 mm terminal size). A banana termination option is also available in Deltron premium finish.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com
Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

The CST Statement interconnects are also made from pure OCC copper with specific treatment within a structure and arrangement that is similar to the one already mentioned for the speaker cables.

The connectors are non-magnetic and are designed to achieve minimal inductance. The contacts of each connector in the Statement series are manufactured from ultra pure copper or a standardized copper alloy and chosen to be best suited for its particular application. When Coincident Speaker Technology uses gold plating, it is applied directly, without a nickel substrate, with a thickness that prevents tarnishing of the connector without affecting the sound quality. To ensure minimal inductance, Israel Blume methodically removes all conductive materials that are not absolutely necessary to ensure signal transmission (and therefore potentially harmful).

The special XLR connectors of the Statement series are custom machined and precision die-cast with male and female pins of billet-cut Tellurium copper or patented Brush-Wellman Alloy 174 beryllium copper as standard to ensure the best conductivity.

The insulation of the inner fluoropolymer central core contains a mixture of air and nitrogen. The outer insulating core is braided in high density, high strength polyester. This results in excellent dielectric characteristics with a general appearance reminiscent of that of carbon fiber.

Israel Blume further states that the insulation and core structure thus formed have a lower effective dielectric constant than any other type or combination of commercially available materials. Difficult to verify this type of affirmation but it nevertheless gives an idea of the ambitions of Coincident Speaker Technology for its last achievement in cables' design...

It is difficult for me to go deeper into the details of the manufacturing process without revealing too many trade secrets, and what counts finally is how they do perform.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

My first impression about Israel's cables undoubtedly was their outstanding level of neutrality. Most of my previous experiences of speaker wires and interconnects provided me with the sensation of a specific direction in sound reproduction, the so-called sonic fingerprint. After all, audio cables are often considered as a cooking recipe, in other words the sauce which blends all ingredients to achieve further coherence and particular flavor.

But in the case of this Coincident Speaker Technology Statement series, it is very difficult to highlight such specific feature or distinctive character. I do not have however ultra-colored references in mind, and I have never used Cardas cables, don't have used for a long time HMS cables, nor this armada of North American cables that systematically increase the low-end...

Compared with High Fidelity Cables CT1-E for speaker cables, or Grimm TPM for interconnects, the Coincident Speaker Technology Statement wires seem even more linear.

These cables deliver such an accurate response within the whole sound spectrum that I hardly can say if they are better in the treble, midrange or bass. That's finally the main issue with such flawless cables: writing several pages about these cables to say what ? Just that they are flawless and undetectable?

In fact, things are not so trivial or simple. Their impact is audible because they highlight the strengths and weaknesses of your system, with just a little bit more sharpness than all the other cables I could have tested before. These are undoubtedly not cables of complacency. A small mistake in the choice of the power cord for my D/A converter Audiomat Maestro 3 Reference and the sanction was felt immediately...

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

But when everything is correctly set, it can be heard the same way. No compensation, no characteristics that would change them into capricious divas. Israel Blume's Statement series do their job and nothing else. Sure I could discuss for a long time about art and science of preserving neutrality and entertainment.

The same bundle of qualities can be found in the interconnects as in the speaker cables. First of all, they provide a great impression of silence, within the famous black curtain that usually exhibits the smallest ambient details without giving an overboost to brightness and trebles.

Second strong point is the obvious robust behavior in the bass which allows to explore the low-end skills of big loudspeakers like the Vivid Audio G1s, but also to produce a very clean and convincing response in the bass with more limited speakers such as the new Thiel TT1.

And if that was not enough (and yes that's not an end in itself), the Statement line provides you with an exquisite diversity of timbres without falling into the trap of systematically giving emphasis to the mids.

Finally, you can't either ignore their subtle dynamics and their precision on the transients achieved without adverse effect of listening fatigue in the long run...

All the upper mentioned features noted on my system raise these two pairs of cables to the rank of genuine top reference. The CST Statement XLR cables make my Grimm TPM interconnects sounding a bit simplistic and too systematic in their way of constructing the sound stage. In comparison, The CST Statements gave more sensation of depth but closer to the interpreters.

From a tones' accuracy standpoint, the CST Statement interconnects are also richer, providing wider tonal diversity than the Grimm, without embellishing the reality like a Cardas or even, to a lesser extent, a High Fidelity Cables pair.

LStability of the stereo image can easily be compared to the best performers in that field, such as the JPS Labs flagship, but within a higher clarity.

In fact, The CST Statement cables give you the impression to stand exactly where you should be (i.e. on the concert hall's very best seat), without removing or adding something to the recording, and that's why it's so difficult to describe precisely what they do...

Perhaps another more direct way to comment their performance would be to describe what they don't do...

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com
Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

The loudspeaker cables are in the same vein. I appreciated the fact that they can deliver enough current to move such big full range loudspeakers while avoiding to lose finesse.

That's in some ways a kind of squared circle: more precisely, they delivered the adequate amount of air and harmonic richness that contributes for a good part to recreate the essence of music, meanwhile they also provided enough energy to handle the most violent orchestral passages.

There is indeed quite often something missing. For instance, the High Fidelity CT1-E doesn't allow you to reproduce the dynamics at their full extent on a pair of big floorstanders, as they are real energy eaters despite a flawless behavior on all other aspects.

At the contrary, Many OCC copper cables, although very pricey, often produce good results, but at the expense of systematic tones or of recessed dynamics. At the contrary, many North American products deliver a tremendous amount of visceral energy but completely lack the necessary refinement and transparency...

The CST Statement wires avoid all these pitfalls. Even on the Thiel TT1, they have reproduced the second movement of Shostakovich's 10th symphony without collapsing at loud level. The allegro movement at realistic volume level is generally considered as a very complicated task, and the slightest weakness of the playback chain quickly brings the mistake. With the CST Statement cable line, the impression is both that of a greater clarity and of a perfect control of the transducers.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

They are also able to bring out the subtlety and the eloquence of Bach Collegium Japan outstanding singers on Maestro Suzuki's last outing (?Peasant cantata? - BIS).

I really enjoyed the correct balance between organic rendering and aeration all around voices and instruments within a credible three-dimensional sound stage.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Conclusion :

Summing up, these cables are a perfect example of the union between equilibrium and performance. I have dedicated so much time to the quest for a speaker cable able to exploit the full potential of my Vivid Audio G1s in terms of transparency and energy.

But this time, I sincerely think I've been blown away, in a still reasonable budget among a set of indecently priced proposals. They will stay then at home, being even more convinced of my own choice than I was towards the High Fidelity Cables CT1-E when I still had my old Vivid Audio K1s.

Because the CST Statement cables seem to go a little further, with a much better authority in the bass, while offering a greater versatility than my previous American cables (which clearly became a bit underpowered for the Giya G1s).

I was more dubious in my approach to interconnects, being very satisfied with the balance achieved with my current Grimm Audio cables. But again, the CST Statement pair has set very high standards, showing me finally that my proper cables were less neutral than I thought.

It is therefore a logical consequence to release our most prestigious award ?Grand Frisson 2016? (Great Thrill 2016) to the CST Statement cable line which delighted me during these last days of 2016. Congratulations to Israel Blume who continues to deliver extremely convincing products!

Joël Chevassus - Décembre 2016

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Matériel utilisé pour le banc d'essai :

Sources : Esoteric K-03, Lumin S1, Lumin U1, Audiomat Maestro 3 Référence, Gold Note DS 1000, Apple Imac Yosemite Osx / JRiver Media Center 21,Trends UD-10.1, MacBook Yosemite OSx.
Amplis / Préamplis : SPL Volume2, Coïncident Technology Statement Line Preamplifier, 2 Luxman M800a (bridgés), Lumin M1, Trends TA-10.2, Red Dragon S500 x 2.
Enceintes: Thiel TT1, Vivid Audio G1, Elipson Planet L.
Cables: Esprit Lumina USB, Esprit Lumina S/pdif, Esprit Eterna USB, Skywire 2020 digital, Naturelle Audio Live 8 MK2, Grimm Audio TPM, Cables Phi Audio, CST Statement HP + modulation.
Cordons d'alimentation: barrette secteur LH Audio, cordons DIY + Phi Audio.

Prix du matériel testé: 3.600 $ (câbles enceintes CST Statement bi-câblage 3 mètres), 890 $ (modulation XLR 1,5 mètres).



Site du fabricant : http://www.coincidentspeaker.com/





Designed By Science Driven By Passion
391 Woodland Acres Crescent, Maple, ON., L6A1G2
Tel: 647-221-1834
www.coincidentspeaker.com
[email protected]

www.audiophile-magazine.com

Source: www.audiophile-magazine.com

Coincident Speaker Technology

Statement Cables

Read English version Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Coincident Speaker Technology est reconnu pour son rapport qualité prix assez inhabituel. Certes, la vente en direct explique sans doute une partie de la compétitivité de la production de Monsieur Israel Blume, mais les produits Coïncident Speaker Technology (CST) sont loin d'être fabriqués au rabais ou à l'économie, et sont, au contraire, conçus en utilisant des composants de qualités, dans un souci premier d'offrir le maximum de transparence et de naturel possible. Vous conviendrez que c'est plutôt un bon point de départ lorsqu'on vise la très haute fidélité...

L'entreprise canadienne a également le mérite d'avoir une production assez diversifiée entre enceintes et électroniques à tubes. Israel Blume propose ainsi un catalogue de produits qui s'étoffe petit à petit, avec des références qui s'inscrivent par ailleurs dans la durée.

C'est le cas de mon préamplificateur personnel (Coincident Statement Line Stage) qui reste chez moi un maillon central depuis de nombreuses années, sans que bon nombre de préamplificateurs passés entre mes mains aient réussi à le remettre en cause, et ce en dépit d'un prix relativement modeste dans le segment du high-end.

Israel Blume étant un constructeur très polyvalent, à l'instar d'un Touraj Moghaddam (CEO de Vertere et ex patron de Roksan), il restait à tester ses câbles, et pour éviter de tergiverser ou de supputer sur le potentiel de sa production, je me suis directement concentré sur sa nouvelle référence très haut de gamme : la série Statement !

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com Israel Blume

J'ai obtenu pour cet essai une paire de câbles HP de 3 mètres en version bi-câblage ainsi qu'une paire de câbles de modulation symétriques d'une longueur de 1,5 mètre. Israel Blume propose également des cordons secteurs dans la série Statement mais le côté très peu universel des câbles d'alimentation ne m'a pas incité à tester ni à formuler un avis sur l'apport de ce type d'accessoire.

Je me suis donc concentré sur les basiques, câbles de modulation et câbles HP, dans une gamme de budget assez élevée chez un constructeur habituellement très attentif au rapport qualité prix. Voilà en quels termes a débuté cette expérience...

Faisons également, avant d'entrer dans le cœur du sujet, un rapide tour d'horizon du catalogue des câbles Coïncident Technology et des développements réalisés par Israel Blume au cours des dernières années.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Celles-ci ont été consacrées en partie à développer de nouvelles gammes de câbles. Et cela a si bien fonctionné qu'Israel Blume déclare aujourd'hui faire autant de chiffre d'affaires sur sa gamme de câbles que sur la vente d'enceintes, pourtant assez réputées outre atlantique.

La démarche de Coincident Speaker Technology a été assez simple : Israel Blume a récolté un vaste échantillon des meilleurs câbles du marché (modulation et HP) afin de se constituer un panel de référence, et a ensuite travaillé jusqu'à pouvoir proposer des câbles ayant des performances égales ou supérieures pour une fraction du prix demandé par ses compétiteurs.

Autant dire que cette démarche force la sympathie lorsqu'on constate l'envolée des prix chez de nombreux fabricants. Il faut néanmoins garder à l'esprit que le système de vente directe fausse un tant soit peu le jeu du comparatif de prix. Mais cette philosophie de garder des prix relativement accessibles fait en quelques sortes partie intégrante de l'ADN de Coincident Speaker Technology.

La première série de câbles CST (Coincident Speaker Technology) a été lancée en 2000, et avec le succès grandissant, une gamme complète de câbles a été développée jusqu'à la très discrète sortie de la ligne Statement.

L'offre d'Israel Blume regroupe ainsi 3 niveaux de gamme : l'entrée de gamme "CST.5", la série "Extreme", et la série "Statement".

Le panel de câbles de la série Statement est assez complet puisqu'il comporte des câbles de modulation disponibles aussi bien en version RCA (ST - 1) que XLR (ST - 2), des câbles HP (ST - 5) disponibles en version simple ou bi-câblage, des jumpers (ST - 5/JS), un câble numérique (ST - 4) disponible en connectiques AES-EBU et SPDIF (RCA ou BNC), un câble secteur (ST - 10) et un câble phono (ST - PH-1).

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Les câbles d'enceintes sont, à l'instar des câbles de modulation de la même gamme, réalisés à partir de conducteurs de cuivre PC-OCC ultra-purs (Pure Copper by Ohno Continuous Casting, c'est-à-dire un fil de cuivre pur monocristalin) de 0,57 mm de diamètre.

Le procédé spécifique d'extrusion à haute température permet d'obtenir en effet une qualité de cuivre ne présentant pratiquement pas de barrière transversale aux cristaux, pouvant freiner le passage du signal. Le niveau de pureté est par ailleurs trop élevé pour être mesuré avec précision par les laboratoires américains (dixit Mr Blume himself, et que diable entasser les 9 après la virgule...).

Les conducteurs sont isolés via une gaine téflon de très fine épaisseur (environ 0,076 mm) et agencés selon la géométrie propriétaire de Coincident Technology baptisée "WaveLink" basée sur un assemblage de type Litz et placés dans une structure concentrique diélectrique à éléments multiples organisée en quatre conducteurs principaux, eux mêmes placées autour d'un axe central à inductance minimale. Un tresse extérieure vient constituer une énième protection.

La connectique est proposée en standard en fourches (6 ou 8,5 mm) cuivre avec placage or 24 carats et traitement cryogénique. Une option bananes est également disponible en finition premium Deltron.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com
Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Le câble de modulation CST Statement est également fabriqué à partir de cuivre pur OCC avec traitement spécifique avec une structure et un agencement finalement assez similaire à celui déjà évoqué pour les câbles HP de la même série.

Les connecteurs sont amagnétiques et sont conçus pour obtenir une inductance minimale. Les contacts de chaque connecteur de la série Statement sont fabriqués en cuivre ultra pur ou dans un alliage de cuivre normalisé et choisi pour être le mieux adapté à son application particulière. Lorsque Coincident Speaker Technology utilise du placage d'or, on l'applique directement, sans substrat de nickel, avec une épaisseur permettant d'éviter le ternissement du connecteur sans pour autant affecter la qualité sonore. Pour assurer une inductance minimale, Israel Blume enlève méthodiquement tous les matériaux conducteurs qui ne sont pas absolument nécessaires pour assurer la transmission du signal (et donc potentiellement néfastes).

Les connecteurs spéciaux XLR de la série Statement sont usinés sur cahier des charges et moulés sous pression avec des broches mâles et des prises femelles en cuivre tellure ou en cuivre béryllium pour assurer les meilleurs taux de conductivité.

L'isolation de la gaine interne en polymère fluoré contient un mélange d'air et d'azote. La gaine isolante externe est tressée en polyester de haute densité et très résistant. Il en résulte des caractéristiques diélectriques excellentes avec un aspect général qui rappelle celui de la fibre de carbone.

Israel Blume déclare d'ailleurs que l'isolation et la structure de noyau ainsi formée ont une constante diélectrique efficace inférieure à celle de tout autre type ou combinaison de matériaux disponibles dans le commerce. Difficile de vérifier ce type d'affirmation mais cela donne néanmoins une idée des ambitions de Coincident Speaker Technology lors de la mise au point de cette dernière série de câbles...

Il m'est d'(ailleurs difficile d'entrer davantage dans les détails de fabrication de câbles sans révéler les secrets de fabrication du fabricant, et l'essentiel reste bien évidement de savoir ce que ces câbles donnent à l'écoute.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Le premier constat est sans doute la très grande neutralité de ces câbles. On a toujours tendance à distinguer une direction, une orientation vers laquelle tend un câble, qu'il s'agisse de cordons de modulations ou haut-parleurs. Les câbles, après tout, c'est un peu de la cuisine, c'est la sauce qui va lier les différents ingrédients en apportant une cohérence et une saveur particulière.

Mais dans le cas de cette série Statement, je serais bien embêté de vous donner une indication précise en la matière. Les références que j'ai dans l'oreille ne sont pourtant pas ultra-colorées, et je n'ai jamais utilisé des câbles Cardas à titre personnel, plus utilisé depuis très longtemps des câbles HMS, ni cette armada de câbles nord-américains qui apportent en effet « bass boost » dans le bas médium assez systématique...

Face à des High Fidelity Cables CT1-E pour les câbles d'enceintes, ou des Grimm TPM pour la modulation, les Coincident semblent pourtant encore plus linéaires.

Ces câbles offrent un résultat extrêmement solide d'un bout à l'autre de la bande passante et je ne saurais dire s'il sont meilleurs dans les aigus, le médium ou le grave. Voilà, c'est bien le problème des câbles auxquels on n'a rien à reprocher : arriver à coucher des phrases sur une page pour dire quoi ? Juste qu'ils passent inaperçus ?

En fait, ce n'est pas vraiment ça non plus. Leur présence se remarque car elle met en lumière les propres forces et faiblesses de votre système, avec juste un peu plus d'acuité que tous les autres câbles que j'avais pu essayer auparavant. Ce ne sont effectivement pas des câbles complaisants. Une petite erreur d'association de câble secteur sur le DAC Audiomat Maestro 3 Référence et la sanction a été immédiate...

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Mais quand tout est en place, ça s'entend également. Pas de compensation, pas de caractéristiques qui en feraient des divas capricieuses. La série Statement d'Israel Blume fait son job, rien que son job. Après, il y a l'art et la manière.

On retrouve à peu près le même faisceau de qualités en modulation qu'en câble haut parleur. Tout d'abord, un silence de fonctionnement avec ce fameux fond noir qui permet de mettre en exergue les micro-informations et la profondeur de champ sans avoir recours à une quelconque brillance artificielle dans le haut du spectre.

Il y a ensuite cette tenue des basses fréquences assez exceptionnelle qui permet d'aller très loin sur de grosses enceintes full range comme les Vivid Audio G1, ou de donner un grave charpenté sans être pour autant exagéré sur des enceintes plus limitées dans ce registre comme les nouvelles Thiel TT1.

Et puis ensuite, il y a cette diversité de timbres sans tomber dans le piège de la gonflette systématique des moyennes fréquences.

Enfin, il y a la dynamique et la précision sur les transitoires sans que l'écoute en devienne fatigante à la longue...

Tout ça fait de ces deux paires de câbles testées sur mon système un vrai point de référence. La paire de câbles XLR CST Statement fait presque paraître mes Grimm TPM comme simplificateurs et un peu trop systématiques dans leur façon de construire la scène sonore, particulièrement en retrait comparée aux Statement qui donnent davantage de sensation de profondeur mais en vous rapprochant des interprètes.

Côté précision des timbres, le câble de modulation CST Statement fait également mieux avec une palette tonale plus riche et diversifiée que le Grimm, sans pour autant embellir la réalité à l'instar d'un Cardas ou même, dans une moindre mesure d'un High Fidelity Cables.

La stabilité et la précision de l'image sonore sont également comparables à ce qui se fait de mieux, à l'instar du haut de gamme JPS Labs mais en moins sombre.

En fait, les CST Statement vous donnent l'impression d'être à chaque fois pile là où il faut, sans en enlever ni en rajouter, et c'est bien ce qui complique l'exercice consistant à décrire ce qu'ils font...

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com
Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Les câbles haut-parleur sont dans la même veine. J'ai apprécié le fait qu'ils puissent délivrer suffisamment de courant pour bouger de grosses enceintes en évitant néanmoins de perdre en finesse.

C'est un peu la quadrature du cercle : être précis, apporter la quantité d'aération et de richesse harmonique qui fait toute la subtilité de la musique, et pouvoir également donner suffisamment d'énergie pour maîtriser les passages orchestraux les plus violents.

Souvent il y a quelque chose qui n'est pas totalement au rendez-vous lorsqu'on essaie un câble. Par exemple, les High Fidelity CT1-E ne permettent pas d'avoir la dynamique voulue pour tout passer à volume réaliste sur une grosse enceinte.

Nombre de câbles en cuivre OCC pourtant très chers donnent bien souvent de bons résultats mais au prix d'un côté un peu systématique sur les timbres ou d'un manque d'énergie. Certains câbles nord-américains délivrent énormément d'énergie mais manquent complètement de raffinement et d'aération...

Les CST Statement évitent tous ces écueils. Même sur les Thiel TT1, ils arrivent à passer sans broncher le second mouvement de la 10ème symphonie de Shostakovich à volume élevé. A volume très soutenu, l'allegro est pourtant une tâche ardue et la moindre défaillance du système amène rapidement la sanction. Avec les CST Statement, l'impression est à la fois celle d'une grande clarté (ou lisibilité) et d'un parfait contrôle des transducteurs.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Ils arrivent tout aussi bien à faire ressortir la subtilité et l'éloquence des chanteurs du Bach Collegium Japan dans le dernier opus du maestro Suzuki et sa cantate des paysans.

On apprécie le juste équilibre entre rendu organique de l'ensemble du chef japonais, et aération des voix et des instruments, ceci dans un cadre tridimensionnel crédible.

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Conclusion :

Bref, ces câbles sont un modèle d'équilibre et de performance. J'ai mis beaucoup de temps avant de trouver un câble HP à la hauteur des capacités de mes Vivid Audio G1.

Comme je l'ai dit précédemment, à chaque fois, il manquait quelque chose pour que le grande transparence ainsi que la formidable énergie de ces enceintes soient pleinement exploitées.

Et cette fois-ci, je pense sincèrement avoir fait mouche, dans un budget restant encore raisonnable parmi un ensemble de propositions tarifaires parfois complètement folles. Ils vont donc rester chez moi, étant encore plus convaincu de mon choix que je l'étais vis-à-vis des High Fidelity Cables CT1-E, lorsque j'avais encore mes anciennes Vivid Audio K1.

Car les CST Statement me semblent aller encore un peu plus loin, avec en tout cas un grave bien mieux tenu, tout en offrant une plus grande polyvalence que mes anciens câbles américains (devenus clairement un peu juste en puissance pour les G1).

J'étais plus dubitatif dans mon approche vis-à-vis des câbles de modulation, étant très satisfait de l'équilibre obtenu avec mes cordons actuels. Mais là encore, les CST Statement ont placé la barre très haut, me démontrant finalement que mes câbles étaient moins neutres que je croyais.

C'est donc un grand frisson hivernal qui ma fait chavirer durant ces derniers jours de 2016. Toutes mes félicitations à Israel Blume qui continue à nous proposer des produits extrêmement convaincants !

Joël Chevassus - Décembre 2016

Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com Statement Cables review: audiophile-magazine.com

Matériel utilisé pour le banc d'essai :

Sources : Esoteric K-03, Lumin S1, Lumin U1, Audiomat Maestro 3 Référence, Gold Note DS 1000, Apple Imac Yosemite Osx / JRiver Media Center 21,Trends UD-10.1, MacBook Yosemite OSx.
Amplis / Préamplis : SPL Volume2, Coïncident Technology Statement Line Preamplifier, 2 Luxman M800a (bridgés), Lumin M1, Trends TA-10.2, Red Dragon S500 x 2.
Enceintes: Thiel TT1, Vivid Audio G1, Elipson Planet L.
Cables: Esprit Lumina USB, Esprit Lumina S/pdif, Esprit Eterna USB, Skywire 2020 digital, Naturelle Audio Live 8 MK2, Grimm Audio TPM, Cables Phi Audio, CST Statement HP + modulation.
Cordons d'alimentation: barrette secteur LH Audio, cordons DIY + Phi Audio.

Prix du matériel testé: 3.600 $ (câbles enceintes CST Statement bi-câblage 3 mètres), 890 $ (modulation XLR 1,5 mètres).



Site du fabricant : http://www.coincidentspeaker.com/





Designed By Science Driven By Passion
391 Woodland Acres Crescent, Maple, ON., L6A1G2
Tel: 647-221-1834
www.coincidentspeaker.com
[email protected]